What can I eat if I have Coeliac Disease?

What can I eat if I have Coeliac Disease?

About Coeliac Disease 
Coeliac disease is basically an autoimmune disorder of the body, in which the immune system produces antibodies which attack the delicate lining of the bowel. Since this lining is responsible for absorbing nutrients and vitamins from the food we eat, this kind of a disorder can actually be quite harmful in the long run. The results of this poor absorption of nutrients will range from fatigue and lack of energy to poor growth and even anaemia. 

Diet and Coeliac Disease 
Coeliac disease, also known as gluten enteropathy or coeliac sprue, is a serious disease. This reaction of the immune system cross-reacts with the small-bowel tissue, causing inflammation, which is triggered by the ingesting of foods that contain the protein gluten, which is found in food groups such as wheat, rye and barley. Since, it is the intake of gluten that triggers the entire process of this lifelong autoimmune disorder, it is important for you to follow some essential dietary guidelines when suffering from coeliac disease. 

Foods You Can Have 
When you are suffering from coeliac disease, your dietary habits are the most important factor to consider. Make sure you have foods that are either originally gluten-free or have been manufactured to make them gluten-free and they are therefore labelled gluten free, such as gluten-free flour, gluten-free pasta and gluten-free bread. 

In the following sections, we give you detailed lists of what you can have and also what to avoid when you have coeliac disease. 

Choose from unprocessed forms of: 
 Eggs 
 Meat 
 Rice 
 Corn 
 Butter 
 Fish 
 Vegetables 
 Fruits 
 Frozen, dried or fresh vegetables and fruits especially produced without gluten 
 Dried beans (kidney, soya, cannelloni, borlotti, lentils, chickpeas) 
 Nuts and seeds 
 Tofu 
 Dairy products eg cheese, milk, yoghurt 

Foods To Avoid 
As a golden rule, you need to avoid all forms of food prepared from: 
 Wheat 
 Rye 
 Barley 
 Oats (Oats that are not contaminated are referred to as gluten free in some parts of the world but cannot be labelled gluten free in Australia because of labelling restrictions) 

Common food groups which are prepared from these sources include: 
Biscuits 

Stuffing 

Bread

Bagels 

Cakes 

Pizza 

Fruit pies 

Crackers 

Flour-based sauces 

Pizza 

Croquette potatoes 

Battered fish/chicken 

Porridge 

Pasta 

Hydrolysed vegetables 

Our tip: Make sure you develop the habit of reading food labels and look out for the relevant ingredients. 
Also keep yourself updated on the changes done to the way these products are manufactured to make them 
gluten-free. 

Read more Wheat Free articles

Source Wheat Free recipes

Search our pantries for Wheat Free Products

 

What Can I Eat on a Fructose Free Diet?

What Can I Eat on a Fructose Free Diet?

Individuals with hereditary fructose intolerance lack the protein aldolase B, which is required to break down fructose. When a person with fructose intolerance consumes foods or beverages that contain fructose, their blood sugar level drops due to chemical changes in the body. This causes harmful substances to accumulate in the liver, in addition to symptoms such as excessive fatigue, irritability, convulsions, vomiting, and jaundice. If you have fructose intolerance, it is important to eliminate fructose from your diet.

Some people also choose to avoid fructose in order to prevent weight gain, high blood pressure, elevated blood triglycerides, or inflammation. Whatever the reason you would like to get started on a fructose free diet, you will need to know which foods to avoid, what foods are safe, and what alternatives to sugar are available.

To begin with, it’s important to understand that there is a considerable difference between the fructose found in fruits and the refined sugar found in processed foods. If you have hereditary fructose intolerance, you will need to avoid fructose altogether, including that found in fruits and fruit juices. If you do not have this condition, then you may want to think twice before eliminating fruit from your diet. Fruit is a whole food that, in addition to natural fructose, contains an abundance of antioxidants, fibre and phytonutrients. If your goal is to lose weight, for example, keep fresh fruits in your diet while eliminating foods that contain processed sugar (one of the primary culprits of weight gain).

In addition to obvious items such as sugary desserts and sugary beverages, there are many types of condiments and savoury foods that also include added sugar. For example, ketchup, mayonnaise, breads, crackers, ham, bacon, and salad dressings often include a significant amount of fructose. If you have hereditary fructose intolerance, be aware that some vegetables such as carrots and tomatoes also contain fructose.

Always read ingredient labels to determine whether or not a food contains fructose, sorbitol, or sucrose. If you discover that your favourite foods contain sugar, look for alternatives. You will find the widest selection of alternatives at a health food store where plenty of sugar-free foods and beverages are available. For example, if you’re concerned about what to eat for breakfast on a fructose free diet, a health food store will have a selection of sugar-free cereals and sugar-free almond milk, rice milk or soy milks. You will also find bread, vegetables, meat, cheeses, condiments, and beverages that do not include sugar additives at a natural foods grocery store.

Read more Fructose Free articles

Source Fructose Free recipes

Search our pantries for Fructose Free Products 

 

What Can I Eat on a Sugar Free Diet?

What Can I Eat on a Sugar Free Diet?

Reducing your consumption of sugar is not only beneficial for trimming your waistline; it will also reduce your risk of heart disease, hyperactivity, arthritis, fatigue, anxiety, and depression. Sugar is found in obvious foods and beverages like cake and soda. It is also hidden in a number of surprising food items, such as ketchup, soup mixes, canned meat and tomato sauce. Learning how to read ingredient labels in order to find hidden sugars will help you to follow a sugar-free, healthier diet plan. 
 
Sugar by Other Names 
Read food labels whenever possible. In addition to looking out for sugar in ingredient lists, be aware that sugar may be listed as corn syrup, fructose, lactose, maltose, malt, glucose, mannitol, maltose, sorghum, turbinado, crystalline fructose, high fructose corn syrup (HFCS), sucrose, or maple syrup. There are many forms of sugar, some healthier than others. For example, agave syrup is a natural sweetener that has a low glycemic impact. If you are currently ?addicted? to sugar, making the switch to less processed sugars such as agave may be an important and effective first step in following a sugar-free diet. 
 
Avoid Artificial Sweeteners 
It may be tempting to replace sugar with artificial sweeteners such as aspartame (also known by its brand names Equal, NutraSweet, Equal-Measure, and Spoonful). However, aspartame is one of the most dangerous food additives, and can lead to cancer, depression, headaches and insomnia. 
 
Prepare Your Own Meals 
The best way to avoid sugar in your diet as much as possible is to prepare your own food. This way, you can be certain that no sugar is added to your meals. When dining out, don?t hesitate to call ahead of time to ask what options are available that are free of sugar. As more people are requesting sugar-free meals, restaurant managers and chefs are learning to create healthier, delicious options. 
 
Avoid Processed Foods 
Grocery stores are chock full of processed foods. Whenever possible, avoid the middle sections of grocery stores and, instead, shop around the perimetre of grocery stores where you will find a wide selection of unprocessed, whole foods including fruits and vegetables. Many grocery stores now have bulk sections where you will find ingredients such as rice, pasta, flour, nuts, seeds, and other essentials that do not include additives. Bulk bins usually contain an ingredient list where you can check for sugar and sugar additives that go by other names. 
 
Soon enough, your body and taste palate will adjust to your sugar-free diet. It will then be easier than ever to maintain a diet that offers many health benefits. 

Read More Sugar Free articles

Source Sugar Free recipes

Search our pantries for Sugar Free Products 

 

What Can I Eat if I Am Following a Nut Free Diet?

What Can I Eat if I Am Following a Nut Free Diet?

Nut allergies affect millions of people around the world. Individuals with nut allergies may be allergic to tree nuts such as walnuts, hazelnuts, and almonds, or may be allergic to peanuts. It is common for people to be allergic to both tree nuts and peanuts. Even if you are only allergic to one type, many healthcare experts will recommend that you stay away from both since allergies can develop over time from repeated exposure. 

In order to know what is safe for you to eat when following a nut free diet, it is important to determine what foods and beverages are unsafe. 

The following nuts and products that contain nuts should be avoided:

  • True nuts including almonds, brazil nuts, cashews, chestnuts, hazelnuts, hickory nuts, macadamia nuts, pecans, pine nuts, pistachios, and walnuts.
  • Peanuts (beer nuts, monkey nuts, ground nuts)
  • Nut oils (including arachis oil, which is peanut oil)
  • Nut butters (peanut butter, almond butter, cashew butter, etc.)
  • Chocolate nut spread
  • Nutella
  • Marzipan, praline, nougat
  • Crushed nuts, mixed nuts, nut pieces, nutmeat
  • Peanut flour, almond flour, or any flours derived from nuts
  • Pesto (usually contains pine nuts)
  • Nut based liqueurs (e.g. Frangelica, Amaretto, Nocello)
  • Satay sauce, peanut sauce
  • Baklava
  • Gianduja

There are many types of foods that commonly contain nuts, including granola, granola bars, cereal, ice cream, baked goods, candy bars, trail mix, and fudge. Your best bet against consuming foods that contain nuts is to become familiar with ingredient labels. Particular attention must be shown to the allergen statement on a label, as many products may not contain nuts but are processed on the same machines where other products have been that do contain nuts. 

In addition to reading labels when grocery shopping, it is also important to learn to safely order nut-free meals at restaurants. Nut allergies are one of the most common types of food allergies and potentially the most fatal if someone is anaphylactic. These days, most restaurants will offer safe alternatives or will modify meals so that nuts are not included. Since cross-contamination is prevalent with nuts, you may want to call the restaurant ahead of time to discuss your diet, especially if you have severe nut allergies. 

While there are many types of foods and ingredients that contain nuts, you will find that there is still an array of food choices that you can enjoy on a nut-free diet. Fruit, vegetables, nut-free breads, meat, fish, potatoes, sweet potatoes, rice, quinoa, pasta, nut-free cereals (be sure to read ingredient labels), oatmeal, fruit smoothies, and nut-free baked goods are just a few options. Even foods that typically contain nuts, such as pesto, can be made without nuts and still offer plenty of flavour and nutrition. 

Read more Nut Free articles

Source Nut Free recipes

Search our pantries for Nut Free Products

What Can I Eat on an Egg Free Diet?

What Can I Eat on an Egg Free Diet?

You may have decided to eliminate eggs from your diet for health reasons such as lowering your cholesterol or because you are allergic to eggs. Whatever your reasons, it’s important to be aware that eggs are used in a wide variety of food products. The best way to find out what you can eat on an egg free diet is to first learn what ingredients you’ll need to avoid. 
 
Many types of baked goods are made with eggs. In particular, baked goods with a shiny glaze are most commonly topped with an egg preparation. When shopping for food, pay close attention to food labels. Besides simply looking out for products that include egg, it is important to be aware of hidden egg 
ingredients such as albumin, silica albuminate, globulin, vitellan, phosvitin, livetin, and lysozyme. Ove means eggs in Latin, so people who are eliminating eggs from their diet also best avoid any ingredients that include ovo in their name.  
If you are eating out, don’t hesitate to ask your waiter if certain dishes are made with eggs. In many cases, the egg can simply be left out of a dish, or alternatives will be suggested. 
 
When baking, you will find that many recipes call for egg as one of the ingredients. However, eggs are primarily used to create a desirable consistency in baked goods, and do not significantly affect the flavour. Learn to use egg substitutes for consistency so that you can still enjoy your favourite baked goods. For example, bananas and applesauce are commonly used to replace eggs in certain baked products. Egg Replacer is an egg replacement product on the market that will not change the flavour of baked goods. With this product, all you’ll need to do is add water, and then add it to your recipe in place of eggs. For a homemade egg replacement, mix together 1 tbsp. of water, 1 tbsp. of vinegar, and 1 tsp of baking powder (equivalent to 1 egg). 
 
Tofu is an ideal alternative for savoury foods such as egg salads, quiche, and frittatas. For example, to make an egg salad using tofu, all you will need is one block of firm tofu, 1/3 cup mayonnaise, ½ tsp lemon juice, ½ tsp. garlic powder, 1/3 cup sweet relish, 1 tbsp mustard, ½ tsp onion powder, stalk diced celery, and a dash of paprika (to taste). Simply mash the tofu with a fork, and then mix in the remaining ingredients. This is just one of many alternatives to dishes that typically include eggs. 

Read more Egg Free articles

Source Egg Free recipes

Search our pantries for Egg Free Products 

What Can I Eat on a Dairy Free Diet?

What Can I Eat on a Dairy Free Diet?

Contrary to popular belief, many modern healthcare experts have found that dairy isn?t all it?s cracked up to be. Many people do not make enough of the enzyme lactase that is found in dairy products. This leads to dairy intolerance. In addition, dairy has been linked to a number of health problems including cardiovascular disease, cancer, and diabetes. Whether you are avoiding dairy because you are lactose intolerant or because you would like to improve your overall health, you will find that there are still plenty of food options available.

If you are concerned about what you will add to your cereal in the morning, rest assured that there are many alternatives to milk. Soy milk, almond milk, hazelnut milk, rice milk, and coconut milk are just a few options. These milk alternatives can be used when baking or for any recipe that calls for milk. Ice cream fans will be relieved to find that there are delicious alternatives such as ice cream made with coconut milk, soy milk, or almond milk.

Learn to read food labels for obvious and hidden dairy ingredients. The following list will give you an idea of unsuspecting ingredients that are actually derived from dairy:
 Casein
 Caseinate
 Curds
 Galactose
 Ghee
 Lactalbumin
 Lactoferrin
 Lactoglobulin
 Lactose
 Lactulose
 Nougat
 Paneer
 Recaldent
 Rennet
 Whey

Avoid these ingredients in addition to any food that contains milk, cheese, cream, or butter. Whatever foods
you enjoy (that contain dairy), find out if there are alternatives. For example, do you enjoy yogurt? If so,
there are soy, almond, and coconut alternatives available these days.

If your goal is maintain optimum health while switching to non-dairy products, avoid highly processed ?fake?
cheeses. You will find that there are better alternatives out there such as nut cheeses or, for a tasty
alternative, avocado spreads or hummus. Since fruits, vegetables, and other whole foods are the cornerstone
of a healthy diet, you may find that these non-dairy choices help with weight management and improved
overall health. Have fun experimenting with new dairy-free recipes. For example, if you love pizza, try
topping your pizza with a cheese alternative or having a delicious pizza without cheese, but that is loaded
with vegetables and herbs.

These days, there are endless options for people who cannot eat dairy due to intolerance or who choose to
not eat dairy for health or ethical reasons. With time, it will become easier to read ingredient lists and to
become familiar with non-dairy foods so that avoiding dairy becomes second nature to you.

Read more Dairy Free articles

Source Dairy Free recipes

Search our pantries for Dairy Free Products 

 

Page 4 of 6« First...23456