|What To Avoid||Suggested Alternatives|
|Milk||Soy Milk, Rice Milk, Almond Milk, Goats Milk,
|Yoghurt/Dairy Desserts||Sugar free soy yoghurt, sheep’s yoghurt,
|Cheese||Goat’s cheese, goat’s fetta, sheep’s cheese,
|Ice Cream||Soya ice cream, Non-dairy gelati, fruit sorbet,
frozen soy desserts.
|Milk Chocolate||Dairy Free Chocolate, Dairy free
|Ready Made Sauces||Make fresh sauce using corn rice flour and
|Packaged Soups||Fresh soups thickened with potato or pulses
such as lentils or soup mix.
|Butter or Spreads||Olive oil, flax oil, macadamia oil, sesame oil,
soy cream cheese, nut butters or spreads,
avocado, tahini, hummus.
|Buttermilk/Butterfat||Ghee, coconut milk/cream, copha.|
|Batter (pancakes)||Make with wholemeal flour, eggs, and
|Crackers with Milk Solids||Ryvita, Salada, rice crackers.|
|Malted Chocolate Drinks||Soya milk, carob, dandelion coffee, chicory.|
Tips to Dairy Free eating
- Read labels!
- Notify restaurants when you book that you have special requirements.
- Margarine commonly contains milk solids. A healthier alternative is olive oil, avocado, tahini, hummus and nut spreads instead of margarine or butter.
- Soy cheeses sometimes contain casein. Read the label!
- Mayonnaise and salad dressings traditionally are made without dairy products but many pre-prepared ones now do. Read the label!
Information sourced from Eco Haven